Who Do I Really Love?

Posted on Updated on

Mark 1:29 – 39
“Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place where he prayed”

Which of these don’t belong: (a) Heal the sick (b) Drive out demons (c) Preach God’s Word (d) Stop! The answer? None. They all belong. More specifically if God orders all of them.

Has the 100-meter-dash pace become the rule rather than exception in your ministry? Has your PDA short-circuited because of your overload schedule of service? Have all the dead people in the world risen back to life because you prayed over them, and consequently, your blood pressure is skyrocket-high each day?

I look at Jesus. After all the explosive and cinematic scenes of healing the sick, driving out demons and the unceasing demand for pity from weary souls, He stopped and “went to a solitary place and prayed”

Why?Because Jesus loves the God of the service, and not the service of God. To Him, “service” takes on value only if it puts a smile on the Father’s face. Friend, if you are doing more than what you can handle for the day, you are doing things that God doesn’t want you to do. Stop! “Stopping” in the presence of God gives Him better pleasure than frantic, ego-boosting ministry busyness.

Reflection:
Have I been too busy serving, too tired to enjoy the gift of ministry? Who do I really love: the Lord of the service or the service of the Lord?

Lord, let me remember that I serve because I want to give You pleasure. If I’m doing my ministry with other motives in mind, disturb me and lead me back to Your smile.

(Source: Didache)

Leave a Reply

